Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize (SSB) Science & Technology 2023

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology was instituted in the year 1957, in the memory of late Dr (Sir) Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, FRS, the founderdirector of the Council of Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR). The SSB Prize is awarded each year on the basis of conspicuously important and outstanding contributions to human knowledge and progress, made through work done primarily in India during the five years, preceding the year of the prize.

Any citizen of India engaged in research in any field of science and technology up to the age of 45 years is eligible to be nominated. Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) and Persons of Indian Origin (PIO) working in India are also eligible.

The SSB Prize, comprising a citation, a cash award of Rupees five lakh and a plaque, is given to each person selected for the award in the following disciplines: 

•    Biological Sciences

•    Chemical Sciences

•    Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences

•    Mathematical Sciences

•    Medical Sciences

•    Physical Sciences

•    Engineering Sciences 

The recipients of the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology 2022 are:

  Biological Sciences
  Dr Ashwani Kumar
  Molecular Mycobacteriology Laboratory
  CSIR-Instituteof Microbial Technology
  Chandigarh – 160036
  Dr Maddika Subba Reddy
  Laboratory of Cell Death and Cell Survival
  Centre for DNA Fingerprinting Diagnostics
  Hyderabad – 500039
  Chemical Sciences

  Dr Akkattu T Biju
  Department of Organic Chemistry 
  Indian Institute of Science
  Bengaluru – 560012

  Dr Debabrata Maiti 
  Department of Chemistry
  Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
  Mumbai – 400076

  Earth, Atmosphere, Oceanand Planetary Sciences

  Dr Vimal Mishra
  Waterand Climate Laboratory
  Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar
  Gandhinagar - 382355

  Engineering Sciences
  Dr Dipti Ranjan Sahoo
  Department of Civil Engineering
  Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
  New Delhi – 110016
  Dr Rajnish Kumar
  Department of Chemical Engineering 
  Indian Institute of Technology Madras
  Chennai – 600036
  Mathematical Sciences
  Dr Apoorva Khare
  Department of Mathematics
  Indian Institute of Science
  Bengaluru – 560012
  Dr Neeraj Kayal
  Department of Mathematics and Computing
  Microsoft Research Lab India
  Bengaluru – 560001
  Medical Sciences
  Dr Dipyaman Ganguli
  Translational Research Unit
  CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Biology
  Kolkata – 700032
  Physical Sciences
  Dr Anindya Das
  Department of Physics
  Indian Institute of Science
  Bengaluru – 560012
  Dr Basudeb Dasgupta
  Department of Theoretical Physics
  Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
  Mumbai – 400005