CSIR Young Scientist Award 2020

The Council of Scientific & Industrial Research introduced, in 1987, a scheme of awards for Young Scientists in the CSIR system in order to promote excellence in various fields of science and technology. The awards are known as “CSIR Young Scientist Awards”. CSIR scientist, below 35 years of age, as reckoned on 26 September (CSIR Foundation Day) of the preceding year, is eligible for the Award. These awards are given annually in the following fields:


•    Biological Sciences 

•    Chemical Sciences

•    Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences 

•    Engineering Sciences

•    Physical Sciences (including instrumentation)


Each award consists of a citation, cash prize of rupees fifty thousand and a plaque. CSIR Young Scientist Awardees are also entitled to a research grant of rupees five lakh per annum for a period of five years and an honorarium of rupees seven thousand and five hundred per month till the age of 45 years. 


The award winners this year are:


Biological Sciences


Dr Debojyoti Chakraborty
Senior Scientist
Genomics and Molecular Medicine Decision Unit
CSIR-Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology
Mathura Road
New Delhi-110 025
Email: debojyoti.chakraborty@igib.in


Dr Vandana Jaiswal
Division of Biotechnology
CSIR-Institute of Himalayan Bioresource Technology
Palampur-176 061
Email: vandana@ihbt.res.in


Chemical Sciences

Dr Suraj Soman
Chemical Sciences and Technology Division
CSIR-National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technology
Thiruvananthapuram-695 019
Email: suraj@niist.res.in


Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean & Planetary Sciences


Dr Jagadeesan Loganathan
NIO Regional Centre (Vishakhapatnam)
CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography
Dona Paula
Goa-403 004
Email: jagadeesanl@nio.org


Engineering Sciences

Dr Indu Elizabeth
Physico-Mechanical Division
CSIR-National Physical Laboratory
New Delhi-110 012
Email: induelizabeth20@gmail.com


Dr Manoj Kumar Patel
Senior Scientist
Agrionics (V-1)
CSIR-Central Scientific Instruments Organisation
Chandigarh-160 030
Email: manoj_patel@csio.res.in


Physical Sciences (including instrumentation) 


Dr Manoj Kumar Gupta
Advanced Construction Materials Division
CSIR-Advanced Materials and Processes Research Institute
Hoshangabad Road
Bhopal-462 026
Email: mkgupta@ampri.res.in